License to Carry
Our in person instructor led License to Carry course will give you the added benefit of a hands on approach. While accomplishing the state mandated training for the Texas License to Carry (LTC) program per Sec. 411.188. A two part training is required to obtain a license. Part one is classroom, while part two focuses on range instruction. Applicant’s must demonstrate the ability to safely and proficiently use a handgun.
Class instruction is 4 hours. We will cover Texas Laws, Safety, Carry Holsters, Non-Violent Dispute Resolution, Storage Practice (Emphases on Child Safety) plus USCCA fundamentals. Everything you need to know to become Licensed to Carry in the State of Texas.
Students must attend 1-2 hours of range instruction class and demonstrate handgun proficiency (shooting) to qualify for their License to Carry. You will need a Handgun, a minimum of 50 Factory Loaded Rounds of Ammunition, Safety Glasses (Recommended Z87+) and Hearing Protection.
Students that do not have a Handgun or Ammunition ( Don’t worry, we have Rentals Available ) You can get your License To Carry, and then pick your carry gun when you are ready!
Exempt From Shooting
The people below do not need the shooting portion for the Texas License to Carry
- Texas State Correctional Officiers “CO’s” are automatically exempt from the shooting portion.
- Active duty military or veterans that have within the past 10 years completed training in the familiarization of firearms OR have firearm shooting scores from the military.
- County Jailers that have completed firearms training as part of their employment.